top of page

The Great Unknown are simultaneously sweet and gritty, acoustic and electric, bluesy and rootsy.  They are three songwriters, two vocalists, two guitarists, double and electric bass, drums and percussion.


Following the successful ‘Cemetery Road ’ album in 2019 – described as “a real journey” by PBS radio presenter Helen Jennings – the band has continued its explorations of original, roots music.  In 2020, just in time for the COVID lockdowns, the guys completed their 4-track Troubled Waters  EP, accompanied by three music videos – for the ‘Troubled WatersWedding Rings and Ladders and Levon songs (which can all be found on their website).


And now, despite the difficulties of the last few years, the band has finalised a new 5-track EP, called ‘Sleeping Giants’.  From the rocking title track, through the psychedelic folk-tinged ‘Say My Name’, the heartbreak storybook ballad ‘Three Strands Of Wire’, the social commentary of ‘Blood Moon’, to the closing country-ish foot stomping ‘Twenty Eight Miles From Home’, there’s something there for everyone!


The Great Unknown consists of musicians from a mix of blues, country, rock and jazz backgrounds, who together work across the common territories in between to present their own distinctive take.  They are:


Melinda Traves – Vocals and percussion

Mark Lowrie – Vocals and guitar

Charlie Bedford – Guitar

David Taylor – Bass

Dean Constable – Drums





About Us

bottom of page